Awards Recognition

Richard Ross Past Presidents’ Award for Outstanding Service to the Incentive Travel Industry

The Richard Ross Past Presidents’ Award was created in memory of SITE Past President and longtime member Richard Ross, who died in the September 11th terrorist attacks in New York City. It recognizes an individual or organization that has furthered the vision, ideals and ethics of SITE.

Embodying the ideals and impact of this award’s namesake, candidates will have demonstrated integrity, honesty and faith in others, with notable contributions and long-term service to the incentive travel and motivational events industry.

2020 Recipient of the Richard Ross Past Presidents' Award

RICHARD ROSS.jpgStephen Powell is the worthy recipient of this year’s Richard Ross Past Presidents’ Award. A seasoned hotel sales and marketing leader with several years of corporate management as well as on-property experience with companies including IHG (InterContinental Hotels Group), Starwood Hotels and Resorts, Sheraton Hotels and Resorts, Loews Hotels and Fairmont Hotels, Stephen’s association with SITE goes back to the late 80s.

Stephen’s experience includes pre-opening six major hotels during a stellar industry career. Sales and marketing have been his focus including the development of marketing and sales strategies enabled by advertising, promotions, channel management, call centers, offshoring and direct sales. He is an acknowledged expert in global markets with experience in the USA, Europe, Africa, Middle East, UKI and Asia including Greater China.

Stephen brought his outstanding experience and expertise to SITE over many years and played a seminal role in establishing and consolidating SITE Foundation as a powerhouse of research, education and advocacy on behalf of the global incentive travel industry.


Past Richard Ross Past Presidents’ Award Honorees

2019 - No award made

2018 - Steve O'Malley, Division President, Maritz Travel

2017 – Jacques Arnoux, Managing Director, Faces of China

2016 - Martin Lewis, Managing Director, CAT Publications and a member of the SITE Foundation Board of Trustees

2015 - Patricia Roscoe, former Chairman and Founder of PRA Destination Management

2014- IMEX, represented by Paul Flackett

2013- Bob Vitagliano