SITE Recognizes Members and Chapters for Excellence To The Incentive Travel Industry 

EBenoit.jpgach year SITE recognizes individual members and chapter organizations that have made an exceptional contribution to the association and to the incentive travel industry at large. These winners were announced at SITE‘s 2019 Global Conference, held from January 11-14, at the world-renowned Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok, Thailand. 

Member of the Year: Benoit Sauvage, DMCP, CMP, CIS, CEO Connect DMC: (pictured) This award is presented to a volunteer who has left an indelible mark on SITE throughout the year. This year’s winner works year-round to grow and promote SITE while working as the CEO of Connect DMC located in the Dominican Republic and Mexico, with offices in Punta Cana, Santo Domingo and Los Cabos. Winner of an IMEX Green Award, President of the SITE Florida & Caribbean Chapter, Member of the SITE Global and the Events Industry Council Sustainability Committees, Benoit is also a certified Sustainable Event Professional.

Kevin Forde Spirit Award: Krzysztof Michniewicz, CIS, President, ICP Group: The Kevin Forde Spirit Award is given each year to a SITE member who exemplifies the traits that Kevin Forde was known and respected for: generosity of time and energy for his fellow incentive travel professionals and volunteer roles. A past Crystal Award Winner, Michniewicz is president of the board, ICP Group S.A., Warsaw, Poland.

Richard Ross Past-President's Award: Steve O'Malley, Division President, Maritz Travel, St. Louis, MO: This award, presented by the SITE Past Presidents in memory of past president and long-time member Richard Ross who died in the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks in New York City, recognizes an individual or organization that has furthered the vision, ideals and ethics of SITE. O’Malley is passionate about the meetings and incentive travel industry and helping transform people and business through the event experience. He is the 2019 Chair of MPI’s International Board of Directors. 

David Riddell Memorial Scholarship: This award was created in memory of SITE Past President David Riddell to provide and opportunity for worthy individuals to attend the annual conference. The following individuals were selected by the SITE Foundation for their enthusiasm and dedication to developing themselves as well as the future of the incentive travel industry: Sandra Fahy, Corporate and Incentive, Dublin Convention Bureau, Ireland and Yingzhe Zhao, Student, The Australia National University, Canberra, Australia.

Chapter of the Year and Excellence Award Winners:

Chapter of the Year: SITE Canada

Excellence in Education: SITE Southern California

Excellence in Special Event: SITE Chicago

Excellence in Membership: SITE Ireland

Excellence in Young Leaders: SITE Chicago

Recent Stories
CITP coming to a location near you between 21 and 25 September

UNWTO and Sommet Education Offer 30 Scholarships Through “Hospitality Challenge”

Bob Vitagliano bids farewell to SITE after 41 years